A work of art is the unique result of a unique temperament. ~Oscar Wilde

I have often made up my lists. Called them New Year Resolutions. To Do lists. Intentions. I have kept them in view and read them everyday ( sort of). I have sealed them in an envelope to bring out at the end of the year ( then lost them, never to see them again). I have made long lists (aim long and I could hope to reach at least a few) and short lists ( keep it realistic). I cannot report that I have met with much success. My life has been pretty Average.

As 2013 approaches I have not been thinking of resolutions. I have been thinking of the journey since January 1 2012. I would have ultimately made a few resolutions/set intentions, and encouraged my son to do the same. But probably with the same world weary, cynical optimism that seems to characterise me. But the ubiquitous Facebook ( I am addicted, are you?) prompted me into action.

This is what I saw, shared by my sister, from a page called The Pagan Circle:

 
The jar of blessingsThis January, why not start the year with an empty jar and fill it with notes about good things that happen. Then, on New Years Eve, empty it and see what awesome stuff happened that year. Good way to keep things in perspective!

Perhaps this is a great way to go. No. This is a great way to go.  I know I will feel elated as I watch the notes grow. Because good things happen. All the time. Sometimes in floods, sometimes in trickles. The problem is that I tend to forget them. I get bogged down by my failures, and irritations, and my constant battles with demons that I should have laid to rest decades ago.

I showed the picture to my son, and he seemed very taken with it immediately. That young man is a greater cynic than I ever was. But he nodded vigorously. He also asked a few pertinent questions. So we will have a family jar. I will go out today and buy a nice fancy jar, to make it extra special. I know even a simple one as shown in the picture, will work just as well. But I am excited.

Last week I was not feeling anything about 2013. Now I cannot wait, for 1 January, 2013. Actually I may just start filling that jar today, and go through my recorded blessings on 31 December 2012. That will give me practice for 2013. Perhaps my gratitude levels will be so high, I will attract more blessings in 2013! J.

Love

PS Okay, My life has been Mostly Awesome,. But Average is what it feels like most of the time.

Comments on: "Preparing for 2013. And Beyond." (8)

  1. Inspiring piece…and a great idea ..I am going to do this too..thanks

  2. It’s a great idea. I kind of do something along similar lines, which is at the end of each day write a quick list of four things I’ve seen, heard, touched, smelled and tasted (this exercise came from my first writing group when the boys were much younger). There’s always at least one small nugget of joy even on days when things seem a bit grim. I think you’ll be getting through a few jars next year and I love the fact your son’s joining you. 🙂

    Next week I’m starting a three week ‘thingy’ with a group of other women – I don’t know the exact details yet, but there’ll be a different theme each week and the idea is that after the three weeks we’ll each come up with a personal resolution for 2013. I think the first week is connecting with yourself, the second connecting with the world, and the third week is something to do with spirituality (sorry my details are so sketchy!). The prompts will be delivered online (via FB I think) so you’d be welcomed with open arms by us here in Qatar if you want to join in.

    And btw, your life seems beautiful and not at all average to me! x

    • Thank you! A daily gratitude list is a great thing, and I am so impressed that you have kept it up!

      I would love to join you on your online three week “thingy” :D. you will find me on Facebook as Sonelina Pal.Please send me an FB message and I will add you as friend. With my privacy settings you will not be able to request friendship I think. Thanks, again

      You right. My life is beautiful… I do get bogged down in the ordinary and the mundane, but that is beautiful, as well!

      • The FB page is How Women Work – you’ll know you’re on the right one if you see the purple circle with an orange body and HWW in it. I don’t know exactly how they’re planning to organise the three weeks, but it begins on Sunday 9 December. I’ll keep you posted as soon as I know more. 🙂

      • Sorry to be so late with more info about the 21 day challenge. The How Women Work group is using it’s Linkedin page to manage this. If you are a member of Linkedin you can join this group with just a click and get a daily prompt. If you’d prefer though, you can simply check the HWW page each day – it’s at http://hwwqatar.com/

        I hope this is okay for you. Stay blessed. x

  3. I really like this idea…it forces you to focus on your accomplishments at year end instead of dwelling on the things you didn’t do. Great post.

    • Thank you. It is doing the rounds on Tumblr and Facebook, and caught my fancy. I have a large jar in my living room now awaiting wonderful developments of my story.

Leave a Reply

